How to Keep LinkedIn Profile Updates Hidden

LinkedIn Logo
Image from LinkedIn

By default on LinkedIn, profile updates get broadcast to your connections.

Some of the updates that get broadcast are:

  • Adding a new current job position
  • Making edits to a current job position
  • Adding a new current school
  • Adding a new link to a website
  • Recommending someone
  • Following a company

Many of our colleagues have told us this: They wrote a better description for their current position. Suddenly, LinkedIn notified people in their network to congratulate them on their new position – one they’ve had for years!

Here’s how to keep your LinkedIn updates hidden:

Click: Settings (Under your name on top right of page)

LI_settings image

Under Privacy Controls, click Turn on/off your activity broadcasts

LI_privacy image

Uncheck the box: Let people know when you change your profile, make recommendations, or follow companies

LI_uncheck image

Then click Save Changes.

Now you can make changes and edits and only you will know it!

Under Privacy Controls, click Turn on/off your activity broadcasts

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.